The Boroondara Cricket Club was formed on the 26 July 1938. One of only four ESCA matting clubs to continue to play throughout the war years,
Its home ground was at Highfield Park, where the club played up until 1999, then moving to its present ground at Victoria Road Reserve, Auburn.
In 1980 the club merged with ESCA club, Riversdale (founded 1966), to form Riversdale-Boroondara. In 1999 the club changed its name and once again became Boroondara when the junior department of Boroondara Cricket club was launched with two sides. Now a central part of the club’s proud history is providing opportunity for young cricketers to learn and enjoy the game. This participation and development of young cricketers is central to the club’s activities as it continues its association with local schools such as Auburn Primary School, Glenferrie Primary School, St Joseph’s, Carey Grammar, Trinity Grammar and Xavier College and many of the junior players are recruited from these schools and the surrounding communities that helps to ensure the club’s future.
The Boroondara Cricket Club has its home at Victoria Road Reserve, nestled in behind Victoria Street and Auburn Road.
The Junior Club has now grown to be the largest junior club in the Eastern Cricket Association (ECA), with 17 sides.
The number of senior sides has also risen from 3 to 5 in the last 10 years as a direct result of our Junior Program. In 2005, Boroondara Cricket Club broke association records with all 5 senior sides play in their respective Grand Finals, with the top 3 sides winning. The club has roughly 250 members, with at least 60 more participating in the MILO cricket program. These figures continue to rise each season.
The new club rooms at Victoria Road were completed in 2006, and in 2008, a new pitch and perimeter fence were installed. In the 2011-12 season, new practice nets were also installed.